Sunday Supper! Lasnagna.

Been a long day, was short handed in the kitchen at the nursing home so I went in at 6:00 to help with breakfast and get lunch ready.  Left at 10 to go home to make breakfast for the family, that is something we do together, have a late breakfast.  Sometimes we eat out and others we all pitch in a cook.  My son in law likes to fry bacon, I do the eggs and hash browns, my husband does the toast and the girls do fruit and drinks.

Sometimes we all go do something or everyone goes their own way, its our day to just hang.  Later in the day I made supper and everyone comes to eat, the kids, my mom and my sister and her kids.  Its just something we have always done.

Today I made Lasagna with three kinds of meat, hamburger, italian sausage, and a link sausage with parmesan cheese and mozzarella cheese in it.  Simmered the sauce for 5 hours with fresh herbs and garlic, made the house smell so good.   I mixed Romano, asiago and parmesan cheese with cottage cheese, parsley and eggs for white layer.  I layered the noodles, cheese mixture, sauce and mozzarella cheese to fill the pan, I use a disposable pan, hate to clean up the mess.  I tried something new I made a white sauce and put mozzarella cheese in it and poured over the top, foiled it and baked it for an hour and a half.  Can you say Yummo?

The girls put together a nice green salad and made garlic bread and we were ready to eat, now the guys can do the dishes and put things away and everyone can go home and relax and get ready for another work week.

I love having a tradition of doing something once a week as a family, but I am sure ready for them to go home and have a bit of rest time before bed and not to mention the peace and quite after the grandkids have left.

Lovins’ from my oven

Julie

One comment

  1. Elle Knowles · January 21, 2015

    All those sweet red-haired babies! 😉 Glad you can get everyone to pitch in. It’s nice when that can happen. Only room for one person in my kitchen! Yep! That’s a fact! ~Elle

    Like

Leave a Reply

