Setting the Valentines mood

I love to decorate the dining room at the nursing home where I work.  I picked up some read Christmas lights the day after Christmas, some read ribbon with the thought of a valentines tree in mind.  After all the other Christmas decoration were taken down everyone was wondering why I had them leave the one in the dining room.  Early one morning before breakfast I went in and put the red lights on and the ribbon and I left the lights off as the residents came in.  The lights put off a nice glow in the room, I played some love song music and told them there was more to come before valentines day.  Later in the day I ran to the dollar store and bought paper dollies and heart sticks, made  a paper chain out of red and white paper that looked like little hearts and had them help me decorate the valentines tree.  My grandkids love to decorate the tall skinny tree I leave up all year long.  I like to make holiday cookies with them and we make simple decorations for the tree each holiday.  I thought if they like it the residents would love it as well.

We now need to work on the table decorations and wall decorations.  I also make heart shaped cookies and have them decorate them.  Its good therapy for all of us to sit at a table and frost cookies and talk about things they did when they were young.  They just love to get involved to cooking.  I love my job.

If you have any easy craft items for seniors to do tag me please.

Lovins’ from my oven

Julie

3 comments

  1. julieallyn · January 14, 2015

    My heart is full reading of your efforts to make life for these seniors one of light, love, beauty and whimsy! Your post made me smile. 🙂

    Like

  2. Pingback: Blogging 101: Be a Good Neighbor | A Sawyer's Daughter
  3. Heidie Makes · January 15, 2015

    Lovely post! 🙂

    Like

Leave a Reply

